Main | Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Andrew Sullivan Up For GLAAD Award

GLAAD today announced the nominations for its 2013 Media Awards, which covers television, movies, print, and digital journalism.  Among the nominees, perhaps surprisingly, is Andrew Sullivan for his Newsweek cover article on President Obama, The First Gay President.

GLAAD ticks off some other notables via press release:
Among the nominees: The Perks of Being a Wallflower, starring Ezra Miller, Logan Lerman and Emma Watson; The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, starring Maggie Smith, Judi Dench and Tom Wilkinson; Cloud Atlas, starring Ben Whishaw and James D'Arcy; NBC's new hit shows The New Normal and Smash; Glee, Modern Family; the documentary How to Survive a Plague; The Amazing Race with the Fabulous Beekman Boys; an interview with Bishop Gene Robinson on The Daily Show with Jon Stewart; Oprah's hour-long visit with Neil Patrick Harris and David Burtka; CNN's Anderson Cooper 360; MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry; and Frank Ocean for his Channel Orange album. The list also includes GLAAD's first nomination for a PG-rated animated film, ParaNorman, which also received an Academy Award nomination for Best Animated Feature Film. Spanish-language nominees include Titulares Telemundo for their interview with openly gay boxer Orlando Cruz, news programs Primer Impacto and Encuentro, and People en Español "Images and stories from the LGBT community continue to push support for equality to historic levels," said GLAAD President Herndon Graddick. "This year's nominees enlighten and entertain, but also reflect a new American landscape where a growing majority accept and value their LGBT family, colleagues and friends. Now more than ever, viewers not only accept gay and transgender characters and plot lines, they expect them — just as they both accept and expect LGBT people to be a valuable part of their everyday lives."
Closer to home, the five nominees for Outstanding Blog are The New Civil Rights Movement, Autostraddle, Towleroad, Rod 2.0., and Blac(K)ademic.  Congrats to all!

See the full list of nominees in all categories.

Labels: , , ,

comments powered by Disqus