Main | Wednesday, June 17, 2009

12 House Reps To Cosponsor ENDA

Washington Blade reports that seven Democrats and four Republicans have signed on as cosponsors of Barney Frank's transgender-inclusive Employment Non-Discrimination Act, which Frank has announced he will introduce next week. Both other openly gay reps Tammy Baldwin and Jared Polis are cosponsors. The lead GOP cosponsor is Florida Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen. In 2007, Frank's version of ENDA without transgender protection was passed by the House, but was never voted on by the Senate. View the 15 years of ENDA votes here. Ted Kennedy is expected to introduce the Senate version, but a timetable has not been announced.

Labels: , , , , , , ,

comments powered by Disqus