Main | Thursday, November 07, 2013

Senate Passes ENDA 64-32

 Four senators did not vote. I'll have the roll call shortly.

UPDATE: Buzzfeed has the vote recap.
Ten Republicans joined all 54 present Democrats in voting for the bill. In addition to ENDA co-sponsors Sens. Mark Kirk and Susan Collins, Republicans Sens. Kelly Ayotte, Jeff Flake, Orrin Hatch, Dean Heller, John McCain, Lisa Murkowski, Rob Portman and Pat Toomey supported the legislation. Sens. Bob Casey and Tom Coburn are absent from the Senate Thursday, for family and health-related reasons, respectively. Sens. John Barrasso and Jeff Sessions did not vote.

The last time the full Senate voted on ENDA was in 1996, when the legislation contained only sexual orientation and not gender identity protections and the bill failed 49-50. The bill was voted on as part of the Senate’s consideration and eventual passage of the Defense of Marriage Act. The House passed a similar sexual orientation-only version of ENDA in 2007, but the Senate did not consider it and President George W. Bush opposed it.

Labels: , , ,

comments powered by Disqus